A day at the races…

This past saturday (10 Jan 2015), I attended one of my most favourite events of the year, The L’Omarins Queen’s Plate. It is one of those events where you’re guaranteed to mingle with like minded people (mostly.. LOL), who appreciate the finer things in life, particularly the equestrian lifestyle..

We were hosted by Peroni Nastro Azzuro (a world renowned italian beer), for the weekend, in an all expenses paid trip, which promised (and delivered) what was a splendid weekend of “la dolce vita”..

We stayed at 15 on Orange, one of the top luxury hotels in CPT, and had the pleasure of waking up to the spectacular and “oh so calming” views of table mountain and lions head.

IMG_6715

I had the pleasure of being surrounded by a great bunch of friends, colleagues, media and a few “celebrities”.

IMG_2503_2

Vika Shipalana, Vista Kalipa, Khanyi Mbau, Bridget Masinga

The dress code for the event was strictly blue and white, and let me just say that the Peroni guests were looking absolutely amazing. With an effortless take on style, the boys were looking dapper in their tailored blazers, bermuda shorts or long pants and the perfect accessories in the form of pocket squares and panama hats.

IMG_2494

IMG_2495IMG_2452

The ladies looked absolutely amazing, with a variety of “inspirations” for their looks. Some went for the modern, sophisticated, fitted look

IMG_2501

IMG_2506_2

Whilst others decided to break the rules and go for the latest, “hot off the runway” looks from our local designers (side-eyes model and presenter, Bridget Masinga)..

I on the other hand decided to draw inspiration from the bohemian, hippie, “boho chic” look, which I’m completely obsessed with at the moment, and decided to mix that up with a little inspiration from the 1920s (enter.. “the great Gatsby”)

IMG_2437

I sourced my dress from the most amazing little antique store on long street called Long Street Antique Arcade. The bikini underneath is a Lisma crotched bikini, in Bamboo Turquoise, from a boutique called Mememe, also located on long street. For more of their amazing designs, you can go to facebook.com/lismadesigns.

The shoes are Salvatore Ferragamo heels (sorry, I just had to.. *wink*), and I later changed into one of my silver “Michael Jackson flats” (as I like to call them) by Steve Madden, both of which I’d bought a couple of years ago in New York.

My gorgeous hat was made by an amazing team of people, whose work is truly inspiring and is definitely set to take the world by storm. Their boutique, situated at 143 Upper Harrington Street in Cape Town, is called “The little hattery” and trust me when I say that, they can create just about any hat that you can think of, and do it in record time. Mine was created within 48 hours and hand delivered to my hotel. Have a look at what they created:

IMG_2493

Absolutely Exquisite!! (if I may say so myself)

You can also find them on facebook at facebook.com/thelittlehattery.

For more pictures on who wore what at the Queen’s plate, check out my instagram page at instagram/vikas01cof and also follow the hashtags #peroniweekend #LQP #Queensplate on instagram, twitter and facebook

Ciao..

#fortheloveoffashion

One thought on “A day at the races…

  1. Funeka says:

    Ahhhh…. How I missed out! Such beauty! Great blog Vika! As someone who is cazy about all things beautiful I will surely be following this blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

